MiKayla Green Journal #2 Min Guhong's website made me reflect on why we make websites in the first place. I always thought websites needed to be full of useful content, but he connects website making to self love. He writes about finding the content within yourself. Websites can just fun, or silly, or cathartic. I wonder what made websites so attractive for him in the first place. “Today more than ever, we need individuals rather than corporations to guide the web’s future.” -Laurel Schwulst. I’m beginning to see the allure of creating older style websites. In my mind, it is a rejection of this incessant push to be productive at all times with everything you do. Simple. Or complex. Slow. Or fast-paced. What really matters is that you’re doing it for you. There’s no pressure to perform. Well there may be because we are so used to using the internet as another way to seek validation. But there shouldn’t be pressure. That’s the point. There are no rules. You can make the website into whatever you want. Website as bed I want to think of websites as a mattress. The mattress is the basic structure. Sort of like the index.html file. Everything around it like the bed frame, the sheets, the duvet, and the pillow can always be swapped and changed out to create something new. A bed is comfy, like I’d want my website to be. Inviting and warm and safe. It’s also the place of dreams, reflections, and relaxation. Getting back to simpler internet is always about privacy. The “Reboot the World” article makes me think that maybe if everyone had their own small websites we’d think more critically about all the places we share our information. Maybe we would be able to build connections outside of mass corporations that put profits over people. websites in the first place. I always thought websites nee